University of Minnesota

School of Statistics

Download Arc
Update Arc
Arc add-ons
Text extensions
More data
Regression Graphics

    Applied Regression
    Including Computing and Graphics

    This is the official Web site for the book Applied Regression Including Computing and Graphics by R. Dennis Cook and Sanford Weisberg, published by John Wiley & Sons in August, 1999 (ISBN 0-471-31711-X). It is also the download site for the software package Arc that is discussed in the book.

    Order a copy of the book.
    Read the preface.
    Arc software.
    Obtain Arc Version 1.06, dated July 19, 2004.
    Get the update file for Arc
    Get the latest changes and bug-fixes for the program.
    UN data from Chance, Summer 2005.
    Get arcinaminute.pdf, a very brief introduction to Arc for readers of the Chance article by Vasilescu and Wainer.
    Get the data discussed in the Chance article, in Arc special format called vwdata.lsp, or as a plain text file vwdata.txt.
    Errata for the book.
    For readers of An Introduction to Regression Graphics.
    How to get the data sets for your book, and how to make the transition from R-code to Arc.
    Arc Add-ons.
    Obtain help and more information on Arc.
    Text extensions.
    Obtain elaboration of the text.
    Frequently asked questions.
    More data.
    Obtain additional data sets.
    Learn how to run Xlisp-Stat without Arc.
    Regression Graphics.
    This link takes you to the home page for the 1998 Wiley book Regression Graphics: Ideas for Studying Regressions through Graphics by R. D. Cook. This book provides additional background, more examples, and technical details for many of the graphical methods presented in Applied Regression. It may be of interest to readers with a Masters level background in statistics.

    Some materials are available in the "Portable Document Format" (PDF), which can be viewed and printed by using Acrobat Reader software. Versions of Acrobat Reader for most computing platforms may be obtained for free from Adobe Inc.

    This work was supported by grants from the National Science Foundation.

    Contact us!

    Last modified: June 20, 2005